Windex Does Strange Things to Your Brain…

If you missed yesterday’s post, read it here. It’s good background info.

Bella hurt her back, so I’ve ponied or ridden Dinero often, so she can heal. He’s a doll, it’s very fun.  I love to watch the boys tease each other incessantly on our pony walks.

Lately, I’ve been sick, or very tired. This leads to something I call “Jane-Thinking”.

It should come as no surprise, that while sitting on Hudson bareback, and ponying a tack-less Dinero, I’ve been contemplating how much easier it would be to switch horses (ride Dinero, pony Hudson) without having to get off and on again.

Yes. You read that correctly.

They’re right next to each other. Two naked backs only inches apart. They can both be ridden in halters.

I used to do this as a kid.

The horses are not going to care. Be a bit surprised maybe, but no flipping out.

Until Windex day, I dismissed the idea outright.  Why? Because I’m 53. I probably haven’t done that for 40 years. Might not work out as well as I magically think.

On Windex day, this is a completely inspired solution.  No having to find a fence to backward climb while handling two horses! Just switch.  Easy.

I decided to perform this feat (I’m telling you, Windex messes with your brain) while inside an arena, facing an open gate. I was on Hudson, who wanted to go out the gate. I was switching to Dinero, a foot or so down, who wanted dinner. Which  also happened to be outside the gate.

Because I thought this through so well, I had a saddle on Hudson, which got in the way while I prepared to get off on the wrong side.  Both horses turned their heads to the space between them, with big question marks over their heads.

Hudson was clearly broadcasting: mom. wrong side.

Dinero was looking at me with benign interest.

I’m sitting sideways on the saddle, thinking I probably should not use the remaining stirrup as a launching pad. Instead, I kinda, sorta, fling my right leg above Dinero’s back.

That’s when I remember the difference between being 13 and being 53. What is it about being mid-air  that snaps one back to reality?

My right leg is the bum leg.  It’s numb. I won’t be able to feel if I made it or not.

Abort! Abort!

Luckily, I stick the landing.  I land on my feet in the 3″ space between the horses. Immediate grumbling about rude humans who shove their way into personal space.

This should stop me from ever trying it again.

But it’s Windex day.

I know! Next time I will make sure neither of them have saddles or bridles…then I can just sail over.

Right?

 

11 thoughts on “Windex Does Strange Things to Your Brain…

  1. Hahaha. I burst out laughing before I even read half-way through. First image that came to mind was a monkey I saw hopping between donkeys in India. I guess it didn’t work out that smoothly for you.

  2. LOL Thanks for the great levity! And, have you noticed how things strike you funniest when they are things (or very similar to things) you have done in the past?!
    ….then there was the time I decided to speed things up by taking the saddle off, while I was still riding and only about 100 feet from the barn…. no Windex…AND I was a kid – ah, but kids will do anything!

  3. just remember this phrase: ‘it seemed like a good idea at the time.’ it will likely be on my tombstone.

    some day I may tell you the fork in the blender story. 🙂

  4. Wait… I used to do this… my friends and I used to trade ponies bareback all the time… while giggling… I think you need a giggling friend to help pull you over to the next horse. Next time I’m in CA? We can totally try this. What could *possibly* go wrong?

Leave a comment