When Knitters Protest

The upside to numerous medical appointment driving: I’ve been in four different towns in  three days. One of them was the infamous dog park town. Definitely breaks up the monotony, to drive all these places.

Knitters there have “tagged” a light post and a bicycle rack, by literally knitting around it.  I look at the yellow bicycle rack cozy, and the red striped lamp-post warmer.

I resist the urge to shove my fist in the air and shout “Solidarity!”

There is an underground guerilla knitting cell here.  I was a member.

We met secretly in each other’s homes, knitting our hearts out, without patterns. 

Now THIS was knitting on the edge. We were tough, reveling in the gritty front line of no-holds-barred, full-bore, all out knitting. I knit my first pair of gloves here, starting at the wrist, and knitting up the hand, trying on as I went, deciding to *offset the thumbs.

*Translation: making a right and a left glove, because, if you look at your hands, they aren’t interchangeable, and the thumbs sit down and more toward the palm.

Nice to remember my glory rebel days, when knitting wasn’t a granny occupation, but an act of defiance, refusing to be owned by the corporate pattern companies.

Hey, everyone has to have their own comfort level at defying the status quo.  Mine just happened to involve pointy sticks and string.

Odd. Yesterday, a different town had a public trash can “tagged” by a guerilla knitter. S/he presumably knitted around the can in the dark of night.  Huh. It was right outside my favorite bookstore.

Today, more waiting in yet another town.  I walked down to Starbucks to kill time, past the library, and was startled to see  more knitted “tagging”.

Well.  Who can argue with that sentiment?  Not me!

I’m not sure if this is a local movement, or there is a bigger, more focused grass-roots movement, to protest or call for support, via Rebel Knitters. As far as I can tell, it’s been focused around…books…?

I wonder how dangerous it would be to contact my former cell…

Update: thanks to our wonderful commentors, we learn knitting is being used all over the world as a powerful protest tool.  Some examples (click on photo for original site):

Tank Cozy:

Knitted House and Landscape:

Street signs:

A bus in the UK:

It’s called guerilla knitting or “yarn bombing”, as crochet is often an easier tool to wrap things in. In fact, here’s a great blog on the subject:

Yarn Bombing

Now pardon me, I have a knitted bus to catch before I miss the movement!

 

18 thoughts on “When Knitters Protest

      1. Shawna

        I saw a horse with a crocheted cooler this weekend at the Grizzly Mountain endurance ride. I asked if the owner crocheted it herself, and she said it was a gift from someone who had bought it from the person who had made it, but apparently it IS possible. 🙂

        Reply
        1. The Equestrian Vagabond

          It might have been made by Annerose Carlisle… I think we have a couple of them. They don’t fasten like a blanket, but you just throw them on the horse’s back/rump while they’re at a vet check. I’ll take a picture so you can see! I’ll post it on my blog in the next day or 2. if it’s not the same cooler, let me know, because that means there are more out there!

          Reply
  1. Liz Goldsmith

    No guerilla knitting that I’ve seen in the Boston suburbs . . . but I did see a class for it! Personally, I knit so slowly that they’d find me there in the morning trying to finish it off.

    Reply
    1. jenj

      Misty, you’re in Austin too? Whereabouts? I’m south, and there are LOTS of things sporting sweaters. Love it!

      Reply
      1. Misty

        How funny, I live south, too! For a while it seemed like we were seeing knitted art everywhere, particularly on South Lamar! So cool! Cheers, neigbhor! 🙂

        Reply
        1. jenj

          Haha, it’s a small world! Ping me at jenjobst at gmail dot com if you’d like meet IRL and go for a ride or something.

          Reply
    2. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Love. It. Thanks for the link! A world-wide movement? Who knew? Looks like I’ll be playing car with turtles and knitting cupcakes (The cupcakes are actually on my agenda, I’ll let you know how they turn out. If you can’t eat it, knit it!)

      Reply
      1. jenj

        Knitted cupcakes are SO cool! You can make them out of felt too… some of them look so real you want to eat them. Alas…

        Reply

Leave a Reply

