Weekly Photo Challenge: Refreshing (AKA: Return of the Swamp Thing)

I can’t remember, ever, it raining in this part of California at the end of June. But we had rain.  Get-out-the-cubit-measure rain. The horses were confused.  How did we go from a dry 90 degrees to a complete drenching? All the horses who were just bathed took great pleasure rolling in the mud.

Pouring or not, the dog still needed a walk.  Out we trooped. My first thought, upon seeing this on the lawn, was “Huh. We don’t have red birds in California.”

I went closer to investigate, and saw an equally dark flash of red scuttle across the sidewalk. I look around, carefully.  There are dozens. Apparently our skies were sufficiently swampy enough to allow them to pack their claws, and head out on an exotic odyssey into the sky world, that is usually Not Wet.

Refreshing, if you’re a crawdad.

When I realized it was not a bird, and went from the front to take a photo, I got the big Don’t Even THINK About it stance:

Please notify Central Casting: their Swamp Thing has wandered onto my lawn…

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Refreshing (AKA: Return of the Swamp Thing)

  1. AareneX

    You get a line, and I’ll get a pole, baby–
    You get a line, and I’ll get a pole, gal.
    You get a line and I’ll get a pole,
    We’ll go fishing in the crawdad hole
    (er, lawn)….

    Reply
  2. Cityboywithhorses

    I am so glad to hear that my horses aren’t the only ones who take great pleasure in rolling in the mud. Misery loves company. I am still trying to get the mud out of Ebony’s tail from a cubit-measure rainstorm we had in Colorado a week and a half ago. I am just not as obsessive, um, I mean detailed, yeah, detailed, about grooming as you are.

    Have fun camping and I hope you don’t wake up with those cute little crayfish in your sleeping bag.

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    WHAT?!?! That is crazy. You live on a strange, strange coast my dear. Never seen anything like that on a lawn in Jersey!

    Reply
    1. Jane

      We had a couple of strange, strange days! We do live near-ish to a lake, but crawdads prefer shallow rivers or streams. Luckily, the sun came out again, and the swamp things retreated back into the murky netherworld of Sci-Fi bottom feeders. I did find one a couple of years ago, walking around the bottom of our pool. I thought the neighborhood kids had tossed him in as a joke. Maybe he was changing real estate!

      Diving with rubber gloves on is harder than it seems, FYI. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

