Murphy Monday: Growth Spurt!

Due to Shaun’s unexpected participation in the Disaster of The Month club, and it’s included, grueling, Doctor Visit Marathon, I hadn’t seen Barbie or Murphy all week.

Shaun won the Marathon, btw: she was at a different doctor’s office every day, and TWO on Thursday.  The Marathon has a delightful prize. If you flip to page 87 in The Mom Manual, you’ll see any hurt person in the household has a right to invoke The Doctor Clause on appointment day: entire family gets as much ice cream as they want.

I’m thrilled Shaun picked frozen yogurt.  (I’ve only increased one clothing size instead of six, and I discovered that I like Tart Mango.) I confess, I received a distinct, if possibly exaggerated, OOOF from Hudson when my tushy hit the saddle leather.

Shaun needs to see Murphy every weekend, despite her horse anxiety.  We went on Saturday, and Daisy’s mysterious text suddenly made sense.  Out of the blue this week, I received this text from Daisy:

Huge

That’s it. No explanation.

The second I saw Murphy, I texted Daisy back:

HUGE!!!

He hit an enormous growth spurt. I promise better pictures.  Forgot the camera.  (Duh. Kinda important when you want to take pics.)

Shaun took most of these with my cell.  She couldn’t risk getting her cast bumped, so had to stay out of the stall.

I can go out by myself now, if you’d just move over a little…? No, really. I swear. Then why am I whispering? Uh…because I don’t want to bother mom? Of course she knows, she…YES MOM, I’m right here. No mom, I’m not leaving

Me and Auntie Jane. Did you know the two legs get short as they get older?  Mine are getting short fast. They must be really old.


I’m a grown horse now.  I eat what mom eats! But I still get the good stuff too. My mom shrunk a little bit.  I have to crink my neck to get the liquid stuff. Frustrating.

Even though she shrunk a little, my mommy is big.  Someone said my daddy is big. They said I’m going to be big too.  I don’t know what they’re talking about.  Why is everyone shrinking?

Whatever. As long as I can reach the green stuff.

13 thoughts on “Murphy Monday: Growth Spurt!

  1. Fetlock

    I feel kinda sorry for your mare…he is indeed a bruiser! She’s going to need all the calories she can get to keep feeding that adorable little monster.

    Reply
    1. Anonymous

      Trust me- you would not believe how much she gets fed….my (empty) pocketbook is taking a beating. 🙂

      Reply
      1. theliteraryhorse Post author

        We all jokingly (Daisy’s friends) call her garage Daisy’s Feed and Supply. (there’s not enough room – seriously – at the barn for all of Barbie’s food!)

        Reply
        1. theliteraryhorse Post author

          I don’t know where the more foal-experienced people see it, but I see him darkening across the shoulders, on his legs above his socks, somewhat on his chest, sort of moving from the dorsal stripe, and definitely mane and tail are a richer, darker shade.

          Reply
  2. Oregon Sunshine

    Oh Murphy! When I was little, I had a teddy bear that was bigger than I was. And he shrunk too! Eventually, everything around you will quit shrinking, but it’s going to be a while yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

