Happy Mother’s Day

My mom is 83.

I called her this morning, catching her right after she finished her morning swim, and before her walk.  After that, she was going to the library book sale, before heading over to my brother’s house for a late lunch, and Mothers Day celebration.

I believe I was still in bed.  Summoning up the energy to go take a shower. It was 8:30 am.

How does she DO that?

I love you, Mom!

Happy Mother’s Day to all of you, whatever species your children are. I had a great Mother’s Day with my kids (all species) and Shaun.  Sort of a double mother’s day.

I texted Daisy to ask if it was okay to go visit Barbie and Murphy (don’t want to wear them out!) and she said it was fine. Once I was there, I saw he was knocked out, sound asleep beneath the hay rack, and Barbie was eating dinner. I’m wasn’t even going to open the door. I whisper a hello to Barbie, and rub her neck through the bars.  Daisy must have figured out the timing of when I’d arrive:  my text binged.

Daisy: Open the door.  Go in.  Squat down.  Make kissing noise.

Jane: Ok? …? He’s sleeping, but if he wakes up, I will?

Daisy:  Just do it. If he wakes up.

?????

Murphy wakes himself up. Or Barbie knocks him with her leg.  Hard to tell.  He’s under her food.  I wait for him to get up, and for them to organize themselves with each other. Then I slide back the door and slip in, going to a far corner so they both feel safe.

Ha. Totally unnecessary.  Barbie gives up her food, walks over, and puts her head down for me to scratch under her mane behind her ears. Awwwww. When I don’t become tall again (to reach all the rest of her itchy, sore body), she mentally shrugs and turns back to eat.

Murphy is standing about 5 feet from me, looking at me with no fear or uncertainty.  He’s curious, but not aggressive.  I make the kissing noise.  Murphy walks forward on his little hooves, and places his muzzle gently against my mouth. (!!!)

He “kissed” me.

Happy Mother’s Day. Sniff…sniff…sniffle.

I’m not sure how it happened, but she and Molly were squatting down looking at him, and one of them make the kissing noise, and he planted one smack on the lips.

Who can resist that? I tell you, when he stole shyly up to me, and touched his muzzle to my lips, I nearly burst into tears. I was so touched.

We all know this is really REALLY bad, and Daisy texted me: “that ends next week“.  Totally right. What is adorable at 4 days old is a very bad idea 1,000 pounds, and a full set of teeth, later.

But I’m so glad I got that moment, and that Daisy texted me.  Thanks, Daisy. Completely made the perfect day PERFECT.

I visited Barbie and Murphy right after leaving Hudson. Barbie whuffled me up and down, breathing in his scent. It reminded me of being frisked for carrots.  I saw the bubble light up over her head: Hudson!

Murphy watched the pat down intently.  He walked up and started sniffing too. I’m sure he had no idea what interested his mom so much.

For reasons that I don’t understand, this made me very emotional.  I said, “Murphy, that’s your Uncle Hudson, and he loves you.”

I looked around to make sure there was no one else there.  Totally goofy thing to say. Can we say… “anthropomorphize”?

(But Hudson?  I DID tell him you were his Uncle.)

5 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. funder

    You’re absolutely correct; horses aren’t lap dogs or baby humans and you shouldn’t let them start bad habits like that, blah blah blah…. but OF COURSE I’d let Murphy kiss me!! Oh em gee, that’s absolutely adorable.

    Reply
  2. Hilary

    I have yet to find anything that touches more profoundly than the soft breath of a foal or the smile of an infant… “What a wonderful world”

    Reply
  3. Daisy

    Kissing came has ended officially. LOL. I went in the stall tonight and here is what I got:
    hi hi hi hi hi
    what’s your name?
    hi hi hi hi hihihihihihihihihihihihihihi
    meeeeeeeeee talk to meeeeeeeeeeeee not my mommy.

    OK, we aren’t shy. Boundries start now.

    Reply
  4. Marissa

    Haha, the kissing is adorable! But yes, I agree, sadly it has to stop. I cuddled Julie a little too much the first week (let her fall asleep with her head in my lap on many occasions), and then one night I was standing in front of her and she just stood up and put her front “paws” on my shoulders. UHHHH…. okay. That was slightly terrifying. Time to start treating it like a horse instead of a dog.

    More pictures of Murphy! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

