Barbie’s Big Adventure: Part One

We’re getting pregnant!

(Oops.  That statement has caused a lot of problems with non-horsey friends, spouses, and co-workers.  Barbie, Daisy’s mare, is getting pregnant.)

The internet was clogged (sorry about your connection) for months while “we” made stallion choices via text, email, internet sites, online videos, and of course, various clumps of us met with Daisy in person to review the top 3.  A division in the ranks becomes noticeable. All the dressage riders are swooning over Landkonig (Latinus’ sire) and all the H/J’s are swooning over Popeye K.  I re-watch the Landkonig DVD: “Are you sure you want to do hunters?”

Daisy looks at me.

I sigh.  Landkonig can JUMP.  His flat movement screams Grand Prix.

Popeye K video: beautiful, even, rolling hunter rhythm.  Happy, confident, he makes every jump look like the most fun he’s ever had, and every line completely natural, as if a jump just happened to appear in exactly the right spot, wherever he canters.  He makes huge jumps look effortless.  He sails.

In dry footing.  In wet footing.  On sand.  On grass.  No change. The rider is definitely riding him, but is also careful to stay out of his way. Popeye K knows his job, and loves it.

“Okay, okay”, I say.  “He’s a good match for the conformation we want to enhance, and he’s gorgeous over fences and on the flat.”

Daisy has already visited Landkonig in person.  She reported back: not only is he a knockout, phenomenal jumper and proven sire, he’s sweet.

It’s tough.  They both have the ability to enhance what Barbie has, have proven offspring, and would be excellent choices.

Thankfully, Daisy and I both know I’m the last person she should take advice from.   She has excellent hunter friends, trainers, etc from which to draw opinions  and knowledge.  I can’t even ride hunt seat, and I’m scared to death of jumping.  I don’t have any advice to offer, the only thing I can do is ask a question.

“You’ve been following Popeye as long as I’ve known you”, I say.  “You’ve shopped his babies.   Don’t answer me.  Just think about it: how are you going to feel if you don’t choose him?”

Daisy shoulders her bag. “Good question.  The Stallion Committee will take it under advisement.”

I think it’s fate.  Some stars should not be crossed.  Barbie’s registered name is nautically based. (Think Seabiscuit, Capsized, War Admiral, Man  O’ War).

Popeye the Sailor Man?

Perfect.

Note to readers: lately you’ve  been subject to my Jackson Pollack interpretation of how life happens: it splatters. I thought I’d backtrack and try to paint by number, so you won’t have to stand around cocking your heads, wondering if this bit is supposed to attach to that bit or if I’m really just loony.

(Hey. I heard that!)

6 thoughts on “Barbie’s Big Adventure: Part One

  1. Marissa

    Popeye K’s a great, solid choice. His owner is the owner of Julie’s older half-sister, who is by Voltaire (Popeye’s sire). I groomed for her when Julie’s sister did Devon and heard some great stories about Popeye. I know a couple of his babies personally, and they’ve all been very pretty and well behaved. Some of them start out a little lanky as yearlings but not to worry, they catch up to themselves in the second year. I could talk hunter breeding all day by the way! This is very exciting news. If Daisy wants to pick my brain about anything, tell her to email me!

    Reply
    1. Jane

      That is so kind of you! Thanks, I’ll let her know.
      I’m a Voltaire fan as well. I want our baby to inherit Barbie’s unusual star, and Popeye K’s major chrome. (He throws himself so well I’m not concerned about temperament or confirmation.) I’m all about the flash.

      Reply
    1. Jane

      Excellent point.
      Can you imagine if we gave that much thought to marriage? All friends, family and genetics experts involved?

      I can’t decide if we’d all be kind, thoughtful, genetically lean supermodels pre-disposed to shed all fat (guys: rugged, lanky, thick haired, same-same.) or if the human race would dwindle alarmingly, because everyone we know would be arguing for and against all choices.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

