In Memorial

Shaun’s Mom

10/27/1920 – 04/03/2010

Shaun’s mom was a gifted water-color artist.  We’re lucky to have some of her work.  She was skilled in all sorts of crafts and made wonderful things for family and people in need.  She had the gift of being strong-willed and capable of getting things done: her life was dedicated to her family, her art, her community, and her church.  Many things got done.

She had a quirky and lightening quick wit. Once, while attending a fancy gala, an appetizer of frog legs was placed in front of her.  She looked at them for a moment.  Then she picked them up and made them dance the Can-Can across her plate.  In a ballroom full of elegant invitation-only dinner guests.  We won’t say where exactly, let’s just say we are not ruling out The White House.  Her companions were horrified or in stitches.  (It was something a good wife just did not DO in the 1950’s. The etiquette!)  What made it even funnier, is she was known as the person to follow: if other guest were not sure how to handle their cutlery or a situation, they were advised to watch Shaun’s mom, as she was always proper.

This leaves me with an image of a vast sea of  elegantly appointed tables, elegantly dressed men and women, at a State dinner, making frog legs do the Can-Can.

She will be greatly missed by her family, her church, and her community.

This is one of my favorite personal photos of her: she looks every inch a queen.

We will miss you.

11 thoughts on “In Memorial

  1. dressage rider

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. My sympathies to you, Shaun and your family.

    Seems as though I’ve missed a lot during my de-stressing vacation. I hope you’ve recovered from your injury as well.

    Reply
  2. Michelle

    So sorry to hear about your loss. She sounds like an amazing woman, and if Shaun is half as entertaining as you are it would explain a lot! I’ll be thinking of you both.

    Reply
  3. theliteraryhorse Post author

    Thank you all so much. It helps. Shaun is so touched by your expressions of empathy and compassion. (Me too, you are very good to us!) It’s been a roller coaster for the last month, and why we’re a little low on funny over here.

    Funny hasn’t stopped happening, though it slowed down a bit: I haven’t been able to get it out well, so I’ve been sparing you the “what the heck was that all about?” posts. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Arlene

    Jane and Shaun,

    So sorry to hear of your loss. She sounds like a wonderful lady with a great sense of humor. Take comfort in the memories and stories that made her unique.

    My best,
    Arlene

    Reply
  5. billie

    I’m sorry for your loss – the photo captures her spirit and I love the story of the frog legs. All the stories you have to tell about her will keep her spirit alive in your home and family.

    Reply
  6. lizgoldsmith

    I am so sorry for your loss. My mother-in-law just died as well. Even when it’s anticipated (she had been ill for a long time) it’s still very sad.

    What a lovely photo of her.

    Reply
  7. AareneX

    Jane and Shaun and families, I’m so sorry to hear of your loss.

    I hope that the story of the frog legs–and I will be repeating that story!–is one of many stories you will continue to remember about a wonderful lady.

    Reply
  8. Marissa

    Jane and Shaun,

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. This has been a very tough year for your family, I’m sure. I’m glad you have each other for support. Thank you for sharing this story with us, Shaun’s mom sounds like a wonderful woman.

    Marissa & Tucker

    Reply
  9. enlightenedhorsemanship

    I am so sorry you have lost her.
    She sounds as if she belonged to the Katharine Hepburn club of ladies with no regrets, who never followed the rules though they were the ones who could recite them, owned them. I want to be a woman like her when I grow up.
    May you and Shaun be comforted by the fact that she lived a full and loving life.
    Kim

    Reply
  10. JackieB

    Jane and Shaun,

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Sounds like she was a wonderful person.

    I lost my Dad a few months ago (and Mom 17 years ago), so I can empathize. I don’t think the pain ever goes away. But it does get easier to bear eventually.

    e-hugs to you both.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

