Rider Rehab: My New Trainer

I was talking to my doc (read: whining about how long this is taking and when can I ride again.) and she said, “No riding, but you do need  to move as much as you can to expand your lungs. Power walking would be good”, she pauses, “we want to prevent adhesions.”

Adhesions?

She must have seen the look on my face.  “Bluntly”, she says,”we want to keep your lung tissue from permanently attaching to your ribs.  Breathing deeply and consistently will break that up.  Adhering would cause problems down the line.”

Ew.  My lung is stuck to my ribs?

“Walk”, she says, “walk till you are out of breath and keep going.  Aerobic breathing will help.”

She warns me, “It’s going to hurt.”  But we’re all horse people, right?  Pain goes away.  Eventually.

This is how I came to acquire a personal trainer.  She totally kicks my butt.  I can hardly keep up with her.

She’s 90.   Tiny little thing.

Meet Starr:

Shining Starr.

My thoughts after Doc visit: EW…gross gross gross…no guts sticking together! I’m walking. Why don’t I hand walk one of the geriatric horses? win-win.  We’ll both move.

It’ll help me start slow.

Ha.

Her back fits under my armpit, and she out-walks  17 HH Pops.   Huge walk stride.  HUGE.  Not fast.  (For her at least.)  I’m huffing and puffing trying to keep up with her.  So much for my kind-hearted win-win scenario.  She’s a drill sergeant.  She’s also much prettier than this photo shows, with that giant ugly halter on her delicate little head.

It’s truly a bad photo, but the only one that turned out.  I’ll try to get better ones.

Off to get my butt kicked!

12 thoughts on “Rider Rehab: My New Trainer

  1. Donna

    Hello, nice to meet you, I’m here via Gray Horse Matters. I broke my shoulder last March and went through months of PT, so I kinda feel your pain. Adding you to my blogroll. I have a 10 year-old TB mare, started riding 4 years ago at 42.

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Welcome, and nice to meet you. I visited your blog and enjoyed myself. 🙂

      All people not too shy to comment get a donut. Please, help yourself! *hands over pink box*. Calorie free.

      A broken shoulder sounds much worse to me. OW. This is the first bone I’ve ever broken on a horse

      (yes yes, I know guys, technically I wasn’t even ON the horse, I was near-ish)

      Good for you, starting riding!

      Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      I have since heard at least two stories of her youth, that I’m sure I’ll be sharing here, but you’re right. She’s a kind, sweet horse, with a steel spine and major endurance. I think that sport would have been her calling.

      Reply
  2. AareneX

    Heh heh heh, I betcha Starr is an endurance-bred Arab, and if you think her WALK is big….

    heh heh heh. Yousa gonna gets your feets walked offa.

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Right you are…someone who knows her pedigree says she has excellent breeding and fairly close up, (4th generation) instead of listing dam and sire, it just says “desert bred”, meaning her ancestors were the generations bred on the Saudi desert. Tough, tough tough and beautiful.

      It was too hot to walk outside yesterday (sorry for those still suffering) for an elderly horse, so she walked me in the indoor arena. Sand. I figured it would slow her down. Ha. Boy am I sore from trying to keep up with her in 6″ of sand.

      Reply
  3. Susan

    Starr is beautiful, even with the large halter. She has a kind eye and is an old soul.

    Even a year after I got run over by a galloping horse, I still get charlie horses in my ribs (yep, just like the ones you get in your calf).

    Your doctor is wise. I started doing as much as possible after my accident. And, lots of movement and stretching.

    It hurts, but it pays off in the long run. At the end of the day, a whirlpool tub really helps if you have one or can impose on a friend. Just don’t get so relaxed that you forget to breathe properly while you’re in it, lol!

    Best of healing and keep us posted.

    Sussan

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Thanks Susan, I did turn a pain/healing corner (this is what, week 3?) where I feel like the bone is stable. I can cough without wanting to overdose.

      Walking has hurt like the dickens, but it’s making it all better faster. Starr has been an angel, no tugging on the lead, no walking ahead, no veering off for grass, there’s always a loop in the line.

      She’s all business: we’re working. Nothing distracts this mare from her job. But boy, I’d better Hup To, because I’m not gonna distract her from her job either. Hut hut!

      Reply
  4. enlightenedhorsemanship

    That was one of the things Wizard Liz suggested I do to rehab after I broke my ribs. Walk the teaser pony.
    Only problem was, he’d take a run at you, teeth bared, when you went to the gate to fetch him. Too much running too early!
    I walked another horse. It worked out. Hope you and Miss Starr have fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

