Start Knitting…

I’m with Daisy, and she picks up her cell phone when it rings.

I hear her say: “No, I can’t do Saturday, we’re getting pregnant Saturday.”  Pause.  “Me, Bella and Jane are going.”  Another pause. “Near U. C. Davis”   Daisy holds the phone away from her ear, looking annoyed.  “Uh-huh, well, I gotta go.  I’ll talk to you later.”

I can only imagine what the non-horse person on the other end of the line thought.

“You did that on purpose”, I say, mildly.

“What?” says Daisy.

WE are getting pregnant on Saturday?”, I say.

“Oh. SHIT.”, says Daisy, furiously punching cell phone buttons.

I can’t stop laughing, and trust me, it HURTS to laugh right now.  I’m laughing so hard I have to use my jacket to brace my broken rib. It’s infectious: Daisy starts laughing too, and by the time she reaches whoever was informed we were all going to get pregnant on Saturday, she can hardly speak.

One of the things I love about Daisy is she speaks in the Royal We.  It’s endearing, and it’s very funny.

Unless, of course, you really think three women are going to spend a Saturday afternoon together having lunch and getting pregnant.  It’s not exactly Mani/Pedi material.

Daisy’s mare Barbie is getting pregnant.  At a facility near UC Davis, that specializes in AI and broodmare care.

I’ve already started on four little blue booties (we’re hoping for a boy).  We’re thinking about glow in the dark stars for the ceiling of her stall. We’re thinking nursery decorating.  (Most of which Barbie and her vet will nix.)

Daddy, Popeye K, is one handsome dude, and he can JUMP:  (many thanks to Spencer Ranch for permission to use this photo.  Check out the link and his Facebook page!)

Popeye K: photo by Anne Gittens

11 thoughts on “Start Knitting…

    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Good idea! We know Barbie has dismantled how many automatic watering systems? I can just see her contemplating how she’s going to tear down the glow in the dark stars…

      Reply
  1. Daisy

    Jane makes it sound so good. I tortured her with videos and dragged her to go look at babies by stallions.

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Ha. You tortured me all right, but it was because you wouldn’t stop for fries! Definitely not tortured looking at babies….so CUTE.

      I know I know, the first baby was, um, next door, but STILL…we could have detoured to McDonalds….the other baby was a 15 minute drive. 15 road trip minutes equals at least a small bag of Doritos.

      Reply
  2. SprinklerBandit

    Wow, the person on the phone must have been baffled. I have a psychologist friend who breeds nice horses. It’s not unheard of for her to walk into her office and ask her assistant, “So, did my semen come?”

    Most of her clients are not horse people.

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      That is hysterical!

      Until recently, we’ve all been calling Daisy and asking, “Is the semen here yet?” Nothing like that to make your boy RUN out of the house yelling…”MOM!!!!”.

      Reply
  3. Arlene

    Congratulations ahead of time. That is one gorgeous horse. Very funny conversation on your side of it, I’d have liked to seen the other sides expression though. No more laughing for a while, that rib needs to heal.

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      He was one of two finalists: the other being Landkonig (yes, the daddy of Latinus!). Daisy went to see “Lank” and of course loved him. Who wouldn’t? Popeye K is a better choice for her
      mare, but it was tough. LOL, Daisy sent out an email poll to all of us, and all the dressage people voted for Landkonig, and all the hunter people voted for Popeye K. Predictable.

      (I don’t know any dressage person who doesn’t drool over Latinus.)

      Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      That is a perfect description of him! I got to watch a number of the stallion selection videos, and Popeye K’s was truly outstanding. I’m adding a YouTube video so you can see him moving, though this isn’t the video I remember watching. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

