Jane’s Boots Speak

…and Jane is listening.  And grumbling at them.  Couldn’t they lie just a little?

Lee, at Confessions of a Struggling Dressage Rider, is doing something I find utterly fascinating.  She’s “reading” boots.

Boot-istry!

What do our boots say about how we are using our bodies while riding?  She calls it an ‘inexact science’ (because she made it up), but it’s very compelling.  After reading the post in which Lee reads Half Pass’ boots, I decided to send in pics of my boots too, if she was willing. Lee was very gracious, and took the time to read them.  She also hit the nail on the head.

The only part of the reading that isn’t spot on is my fault:  I unconsciously omitted very important information.

Forget Palmistry, get your boots read to see exactly what you’re doing!

If you want to see how I’m riding (result: ok, but probably not quite enough leg when in neutral – though Lee was too kind to say that.), head on over to Boot-istry Reading: Jane’s Boots.

8 thoughts on “Jane’s Boots Speak

  1. dressage rider

    Oh no! I can’t read half chaps and helmets too! I must delegate…

    Halt Near X, you’re in charge of half chaps
    Andrew, you get helmets
    Jane, uh, tent stakes

    See isn’t this fun?

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Now, tent stakes, I can handle!

      As long as I don’t have to camp. I’m more of a mint on the pillow kind of camper. (Read: fluffy towels, hot showers, and the possibility of room service.)

      Antithetical to someone who doesn’t mind wallowing in the mud, or wrapping up in a horse blanket – for the night – in the next stall to be near a colic, but there it is. One of life’s curiosities.

      Reply
    2. Halt Near X

      I’ve been put in charge of something?

      You do realize you just delegated responsibility to someone who decided to clean tack tonight and had to make three (!) trips to the barn before I managed to get the tack and the saddle soap home?

      This could get interesting…

      Reply
  2. Halt Near X

    My half chaps say I am a dirty, neglectful slob and dare me to guess what color they are under all the dirt.

    My boots just roll their laces at the half chaps and ask what they expect, and then point out they are at least half an inch wider than they were when they left the store, thanks to all the mud crusted on them.

    I wonder if I could differentiate between the layers of mud… find out which spots have been around the longest, more or less undisturbed, and which parts suffer from erosion while riding. I wonder if there are fossils forming anywhere…

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      I believe you have just invented a new field of scientific study: the archeological dig down to the original boot size, type, and color. Think of the strata! Mud barnacles? What civilization scratched pictographs on their boots as a form of communication?

      This could be fun…

      Reply
  3. Andrew

    Really fascinating. And it makes perfect sense — runners do it, why not equestrians? In part because I generally wear heavy chaps, the only slightly embarrassing detail I think my lace-up ropers reveal is that you shouldn’t try to loosen up a ground-tie stake by kicking it with your crepe soled boots. Now, the mud on my helmet, that’s a different story… 😎

    Andrew

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      You know, my athletic shoes didn’t stand up to a tent stake either, what is up with that? Tore a hole in the fabric mesh toe… 😉

      Mud on the helmet: oh that’s easy, you, uh, forgot you had it on and tried to rake your fingers through your hair after picking out your horse’s hoof. Yeah. That’s what happened!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

