Horses in Opera

First, dedicated to  Halt Near X:

Elmer Fudd sings the Ride of the Valkyries, the original version:

With goamwat’s inspiration, and my odd Mr. Chips/Valkyries experience to under my belt, I hit YouTube with a vengeance: I entered “Horse + Opera” and pressed Search.  I thought we’d ease our way into it.  Here’s a horse singing opera: the Largo al Factorum from “The Barber of Seville”

Next, The Phantom of the Opera is performed on horseback:

Unbelievably, there really IS more…

Carmen: full on performance with horses live on stage

Opera rehearsal with horses, an interesting backstage view:

Since we had a horse singing opera, how about an opera singer singing…about horses?

And the ancient:  Chinese Bamboo Horse Opera

There is an actual opera about a horse, but I can’t imbed it. For you intrigued souls:

Trailer for In the belly of the Horse from Thalia Chan on Vimeo.

3 thoughts on “Horses in Opera

  1. shadowlake

    The ‘Barber of Seville’… Isn’t that the one that Bugs & Elmer did as the ‘Rabbit of Seville’? With the Jack-and-the-Beanstalk hand crank barber chairs? And the salad on Elmer’s head? Another of my favorites!

    Reply
  2. Marissa

    So funny. I love that the tags for this post include “Elmer Fudd” and “Kill da Wabbit.” That one had my rolling at “wabbit twacks.” I am sharing the horse singing opera with all my horsey friends — too funny. The best part is the person behind the camera cracking up. Perhaps this can be Tucker’s next talent? Hmmm… off to google “how to train horses to lip sync…”

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      I looked forever for the full episode of “Kill the Wabbit” (Actually the name of the episode!) But nothing.

      The lip synching horse: at first I thought it was just a little goofy something, but as I watched it, the horse really did try at times to coordinate his mouth to the noise! Tickled me to death.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

