Scary Halloween Post

Daisy sent me this. It is, perhaps, the most frightening jumping video I have ever seen. Right in time for Halloween. Unfortunately, it’s real.

Disclaimer: this is not funny.

Embedding has been disabled (you’ll see why). I had to put it here as a link.  It’s shocking, so be prepared.

The horse is the most golden, willing soul in the world, and deserves new owners, a good massage, chiropractic, and a lot of love.

The Scary Jumping Video

Now.

If you’ve watched it: what should the judges role have been? Should they have stopped the ride? If not, why? Clearly the guy knows how to ride, or he would not have been able to balance enough to regroup: he would have fallen off. (Wouldn’t that have been a relief.  I wanted to take the crop to him – if for no other reason than whacking the horse after he believed it refused and knocked a jump down, when in fact the dude fell on the horse’s neck when he took off, causing the horse to plop into the jump.)

If it’s not the judge’s job to stop a ride like this, wouldn’t the venue (this does not look like a Podunk venue), or even the judges, be able to be held liable if the man got hurt? It’s so blatantly clear he is dangerous to himself, the horse, and others, I suspect everyone involved could be sued to the max for not intervening, despite the usual waivers.

What do you think?

8 thoughts on “Scary Halloween Post

  1. cara

    The horse is fantastic. The rider has geat balance. My personal best for competition over fences is 3’3″. No comparison. Some horses that have lots of power and talent over fences have a take off powerfull enough to throw the rider quite far out of the saddle. This horse may have a lot of take-off.

    What I DIDN’T see was the rider using the reins to pull himself back on, or jerking the bit inhumanely. When the horse refused, it was certainly because he got ahead. He didn’t beat her in anger, he just said “look sharp!”

    My guess is the rider’s family parts got the worst part of this ride. It is definitely not how we expect show jumping to look, but it doesn’t always turn out like we hope.

    Reply
    1. msjupiter

      I find it difficult to read what you wrote…””look sharp”, “riders family parts got the worst part of this ride”. Are you serious? This poor animal clearly had great heart and courage. It did not deserve to have a 200lbs man whack him as hard as it looked and to slam down on his back time after time after time. Terrible that the owner would even let this man compete with that poor horse. They had to have seen him ride previously. Yes the man obviously could ride (great balance) but he couldn’t jump “correctly”. Lessons for a good trainer would really help.

      Reply
  2. theliteraryhorse Post author

    This is interesting timing. I was listening to a psychologist being interviewed on NPR yesterday (That’s U.S. public radio for those outside the U.S) and they were discussing why decent people may not act (freeze, fear, shock)appropriately in a situation that ordinarily they would be all over.

    It was a terrific interview, mostly because of the callers, who fell on all sides of the spectrum, and were very honest.

    I believe the upshot is we have to teach ourselves to act every day in small ways how to intervene, before the big situations arise.

    (I was stuck in really BAD traffic: 12 lanes not going anywhere, so my attention was mostly on the road!)

    I’ll see if I can find out more info to pass along…

    Reply
    1. Marissa

      That’s a great point Jane, sometimes we do freeze. If I think about it, I’ve seen things at horse shows that range from bad practices to methods that are really unfair and even cruel to the animal. . . . but I have to admit that I’ve never intervened or nor have I seen anyone else do so. I’d be interested to hear more about the NPR segment if you can find it.

      Reply
  3. Michelle

    Yeah, I’ve seen this too and was pretty incredulous. I had to pick my jaw up off the floor. I can’t imagine how this could have been fun for ANYONE involved and I’m really not sure what people are looking at. I mean, hello? Didja think that looked good? No one considered maybe stopping the madness? I, for one, was rooting for the horse to dump that dude after jump 1.

    Reply
  4. Marissa

    Oh and … (though don’t count this as actual legal advice please) I’d guess that the “assumption of risk” doctrine would kick in — this guy knew what he was getting into, riding is a dangerous sport, he’s completely unqualified, and no one would be to blame if he was injured other than himself.

    Reply
  5. Marissa

    From what I understand, this was some kind of challenge where a polo player and grand prix rider switched horses to see if each could ride the other’s horse, hence the reason this guy appears to have a decent seat other than over top of the fence. This video has been making the rounds — I have to agree with you though, it’s really not funny. Clearly, he must have jumped a few practice jumps and you’d think once it was obvious how dangerous and cruel this little game was for the horse, somebody (the horse’s owner? trainer? rider?) would have had the good sense to call it off. When his time comes, this horse should pass directly through the gates of heaven, do not pass Go, do not collect $200, for continuing to jump around. He’s an absolute saint.

    Reply
  6. Katie

    I’ve seen this video before and it makes me sick. I definitely think the judges should have stopped this. It’s one thing to be stupid and do crappy jumping in your back yard it’s quite another to do it in what looks to be a professional setting. I say shame on anyone there who saw this, had the power to stop it and didn’t. Poor horse….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

