Wish You Were Here

Really.  It would be fun.  Can you cook?  I’m excellent at washing dishes.

In lieu of writing anything even remotely interesting (which takes time, a thing I’ve misplaced again), I thought I’d send a Picture Postcard or two from the realm of I’ll Be Back.

This is the Altamont Pass near Livermore in California.  One of the largest wind farms in the world.

Note that the little black square things at the bottom of the windmills are…cows.  Gives you a sense of scale.

Windmill Farm, Altamont Pass

Windmills with cows

6 thoughts on “Wish You Were Here

    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      We need a dish dryer!

      Oh no, wait, we have a dishwasher (the auto kind), we can cheer on HNX, load the dishwasher, retire to the bugless (gotta love CA) patio, watch our bellies figure out the best way to avoid our jeans, and talk horses!

      (We’re going to toss the casserole dish. We’ll buy a new one should the word ‘casserole’ ever come up in our house again, separated from the word ‘Stouffers’.)

      Reply
  1. Halt Near X

    Hey — I can cook a killer white sauce lasagna (Really. I mean that in my most sincere “Does your doctor allow you to have this much cheese? No, really — have you asked?” sort of way.). And I hate washing dishes.

    I hope things are fun as well as busy!

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      oops. Sorry about that. (I’m drooling.) Please please puhleazzzze come over…not only will we love you forever, so will the kids.

      They’re just a teensy bit bored with grilled. (As in grilled chicken, grilled hotdogs, grilled pork chops, grilled hamburgers, grilled Frosted Flakes…)
      😉

      Reply
      1. Halt Near X

        Here’s my uber-secret recipe:

        Buy the no-boil lasagna. There should be a generic lasagna recipe on the back. Buy whatever cheeses it recommends (and eggs and everything else you need for the cheese part), white sauce instead of red sauce, and chicken instead of beef. Also buy some mushrooms, onions, and bell peppers (red/green/yellow/orange, whatever you like).

        Cook the chicken. I usually just chop it up and cook it in a frying pan, smothering it in cajun spices. Chop up the onions, peppers and mushrooms. Mix up the cheese according to the directions on the box.

        Layer everything according to the directions on the box. When you put the chicken in, also add the onions/peppers/mushrooms. Because the chicken and such is bulkier than beef tends to be, I usually only get two layers instead of three. I still use all the sauce, though.

        I mentioned this stuff could kill you, right?

        Bake according to directions. Add parsley on top, because green = healthy.

        Chopping stuff up is the worst of it, really.

        Reply
        1. theliteraryhorse Post author

          Be still my heart! WOW this looks good. I think I could learn to like cooking if it involves massive amounts of not-so-good-for-you stuff. 😉
          Thanks for sharing! Yummmmmmmm

          Reply

Leave a Reply

