Honest Scrap Award

Honesty Award

The Literary Horse has been very generously presented the Honest Scrap award by these lovely blogs: Tucker the Wunderkind (I am enjoying getting to know Marissa and following  her journey!) and Grey Horse Matters (an elegant and enviably concise blog on horse matters dear to my graying heart).

It feels wonderful to be acknowledged for honesty in both serious stuff and the silly stories, since we all know there’s a teensy bit of exaggeration here and there in the stories (for humor purposes only).  I  appreciate that you see the basic honesty, and I am honored.  Thank you!

Why yes, I AM bouncing up and down.  How did you know?

The Honest Scrap award comes with a few fun rules that recipients are asked to follow:

  1. Recognize your award presenter and link back to their blog in your post.
  2. List 10 honest things about yourself.
  3. Present this award to 10 admirable bloggers who have moved you, and link to their blogs.
  4. Notify recipients they have been awarded, so they can retrieve it.

Priorities!  Items with blackmail potential Fun facts first:

10 honest things you might not know about Jane

(That she’s furiously trying to stuff back into the dark corner out of which they heaved).

  1. I am not funny in person. Save yourself the agony and don’t meet me for coffee.
  2. Jumping scares me.  I think anyone who jumps is both awe-inspiring and a lunatic.  (H/J’s please note this means you’re a lunatic I hold in utmost awe and esteem.)
  3. Two known food groups: Cake and Salad.  In that order.
  4. When I was 10, I planned to marry my cousin Tommy.  Obviously, that plan didn’t work out.  Tommy, you’re still the best!
  5. Despite my love for shiny and fluttery objects, I am almost neurotically non-competitive.  I want YOU to win.  But can I have the ribbon?  Pretty please?
  6. This you know: I hate to cook. This you could guess: I love to bake.  Dessert.
  7. I’m inordinately fond of bugs, reptiles, rocks, bears, dirt (the kind found on the ground), all manner of critters, and physics theory.
  8. I am terrified of elevators.  I think we are currently blaming this on Willy Wonka.
  9. Jane can’t dance.  If you want to see Jane trip and fall, insert the word “dance” into a sentence when she’s in earshot.  Even if she’s sitting down.
  10. Is her glass half empty or half full?   She wouldn’t know, she’s too busy thinking Oooooo…pretty….rainbows! while looking at the light through the glass.

Many deserving blogs have touched me with their honesty and direct from the heart communication.  As presenter, I’ll be surprising you with the results!  (Only TEN??)

I’ll start with two of my favorite professional horse blogs, that I regularly turn to for accurate, thoughtful and timely information:

Equine Ink

Fran Jurga’s Hoof Blog and The Jurga Report

I tried to decide which posts on each blog were my favorites, so I could include a sample.  Unfortunately, my brain short circuited: it was an impossible directive.  I wanted this post and that post, and oh that one TOO.  So go, read, and clap loudly in appreciation.  These  women are doing the time consuming, up-to-the-minute-research so we can plop down and read up.  Thank you Liz and Fran!

9 thoughts on “Honest Scrap Award

  1. highmountainmuse

    Jane,
    Sorry to vent yesterday. It happens. Ignor it… we all get over it. Thanks for being there to listen, though. Again.
    Back to this…
    I’m really honored to be included and considered. Really. I thank you so much. What a wonderful community to be a part of. Thank you, Jane.
    Love,
    Gin

    Reply
  2. goamwat

    Working on an acceptance speech…..will return later with appropriately teary eyes and formal dress (all very tasteful, of course).

    Giddy. My first blog award!!!!!!!

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Oh yes, we’ll look forward to the acceptance speech dress(es) and accidental bits of horse clothing underneath we all, in our haste, forgot to remove.

      Love the cowboy boots! 😉

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Honest Scrap Award « Wendy’s Horse Adventures

  4. lizgoldsmith

    I am very flattered that you thought of Equine Ink for this award! But now you’ve gone and named all the blogs I was thinking about giving it to! I’m going to have to go back to the drawing board on this one.

    I doubt you are really unfunny in person, but at least you can be funny in print. I can’t even manage that!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Honest Scrap Awarding « The Literary Horse

    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      I am honored, and I quite enjoyed writing my list. Though I was sad to have to be honest enough to say “unfunny in person”. 😉

      Stairs rock. We can count them as workouts.
      Thank you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

