Breaking in Tall Boots

We all know it’s a torturous and painful process: we wait for them to drop, then curse them when they do, because now we’re adding ankle blisters to the inventory of pain (along with the blisters we have behind the knees, and on the tops of our toes).

Note to self:

if I am stupid enough to decide to leave boots on to help break them in by continuing to wear them while running errands, make sure one of those errands does not involve picking up a birthday cake for a party.

Carrying a 100 lb (okay maybe 5 lb) cake while goose-stepping?  Not good.  Thank heaven for the kindness of strangers who possess hair-trigger lunging capability.  And whom, while sorely tempted to hold cake for ransom, generously (if hesitantly) return it once a shopping cart is retrieved for safe perambulation.  Without swiping a finger through the frosting.  Bless you.

2nd note to self:

before mounting ultra-sensitive, eager horse, remember to switch out  Stiffer-Than-The-Great-Wall-of-China tall boots for ancient paddock boots. (Ahhhhhhh)  I may not be able to feel his barrel through the 2 foot wall of unyielding leather, but he can feel the increasing pressure I’m applying in an attempt to find his side.  This does not make for a nice leg yield.  What I am really going to get is a sloppy transition into a NASCAR speed gallop.

3rd note to self:

put fingers in ears and sing lalalalala when tempted to listen to the eclectic, third hand, but absolutely true stories of how someone else heard so-and-so perfectly broke in their new billion dollar custom Vogels.  Do not fill boots with water, let stand for a couple of hours, empty, and then wear soggy boots until dry.  No matter how torturous the evil boots are, and how tempting it would be to take revenge.

4th note to self:

you will love these boots.  Really.  Some day.  Say by the year 2010.

12 thoughts on “Breaking in Tall Boots

  1. Scout

    Hey I just go new tall boots today and will be spending my whole thanksgiving school break in pain i would rather be in school.

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Bandaids. I knew I was out of something.

      My toes are covered in itty-bitty back-of-drawer Spongebob mini-bandaids from when the kids were little. The gynormous whale bandaids were the ones I needed, thank you for handing them over!

      (I swiped my finger through the frosting too, you can stroll.)

      Reply
  2. goamwat

    I’ve had the same tall boots for oh….ten years? They have holes in them but I’m too afraid to buy new ones. Even after ten years the memory of the pain is still fresh. I’ve heard good things about rubber banding the toe of the boot to the calf part to simulate riding position. Good luck.

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Exactly. It’s a good thing no one in the U.S. military knows about the kind of pain tall boots can inflict, or that might have been added to the shameful ‘interrogation techniques’ for terrorists.

      Reply
  3. Wendy

    I had a pair of tall boots once, but I got rid of them because they poked me in the back of the knee and they hurt my feet. Luckily, I hadn’t paid for them… I gather this is ‘normal’ for tall boots until they fall? Very strange all of this horse stuff… 🙂

    Good luck breaking in your new boots.

    Reply
    1. theliteraryhorse Post author

      Poking you and hurting your feet sounds like an apt description of new tall boots!

      Yup, they are designed to be slightly too tall, because the leather will soften (this is hope speaking.) and drop some in the ankle area. The good news, if one can hang in there, is they become extremely comfortable.

      Previously I wore paddock boots/halfchaps, but switched to tall boots on the advice of my trainer. She said “there’s a reason good riders ride in them…they provide more stability for your leg, and cleaner contact.”

      We all know I need all the help I can get!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

